30/01/17 - New US visa entry and exit on specific Australia dual citizens

Foreign Minister Julie Bishop confirmed in a statement of an executive order signed by US President Donald Trump on the 27thof Jan that Australians with dual citizenship of the seven countries will not be able to enter the United States. This means Australians who are also citizens will be affected by the new immigration policy. These countries include:

  • Iraq
  • Iran
  • Sudan
  • Yemen
  • Somalia
  • Libya
  • Syria

Travelers are advised that visa and other entry and exit conditions can change at short notice. 


Australians who hold only Australian citizenship will still be able to travel to the US as usual under the visa waiver program.


Australians, New Zealanders and citizens of 35 other countries allied with the US will still have the option of going online and applying for entry to the US, if their travel is for business or pleasure, and less than 90 days.

For more information on visa entry updates, please contact the nearest Embassy or Consulate of the United States for the most current information.